Part 1: Filtering Out Losers in Your Affiliate Marketing Campaign
Welcome to Part 1 of finding potentially profitable Clickbank products for your online affiliate marketing campaign.
Why Select Clickbank for Your Digital Marketing Campaign?
Clickbank is an internet retailer that carries more than 17,000 digital products like software and e-books through 110,000 affiliate marketers.
Every three seconds, more than 27,000 times a day, someone, somewhere on the globe (in more than 200 countries) buys a Clickbank product.
Think of it as kind of the Amazon.com of digital products.
But, despite the wealth of digital products from Clickbank, Commission Junction, and other internet retailers, most online affiliate marketing campaigns fail.Worse yet, most are doomed from the onset because the economics simply don’t work out.
In this part of our discussion of Clickbank affiliate marketing, we’re going to address a very little known but absolutely crucial component of a potentially successful Google marketing campaign for affiliate marketers: filtering out unprofitable Clickbank products.
Most affiliate marketers either lose money in their marketing campaign or just scrape by because they select the wrong Clickbank products for promotion.
For you and me, this presents a wonderful opportunity.Work smarter, not harder.
Weed out the almost-sure-to-be losers by objective criteria, not guesswork.
Then, and only then, concentrate on potentially profitable products.
It’s all about gaining an edge.
Your Clickbank Marketing Campaign: Filtering Out Losers
Fact is, no matter how talented you are, a substantial portion of your online affiliate marketing campaigns won’t succeed.Indeed, even an internet marketing expert will endure some duds among his or her successes but they’ll be very limited as he or she shoots for that $25,000 or $100,000 affiliate product.
Why do the marketing experts do so much better than most every other affiliate marketer?Simple, they take the time to objectively weed out the products that are likely economic losers.
You can---need to---do this, too.
All it takes is implementing a formula to dramatically cut down the expensive and time consuming “doomed-from-the-beginning” affiliate product scenarios and identify those products with real money-making potential.
The 30/100 Formula for Filtering Losers
In truth, there is such a formula.It’s called the “At Least 30/100 Formula” and starts with these assumptions:
1.A realistic conversion rate for an affiliate product is 1% (i.e., for every 100 people who click through to your landing page, 1 sale will occur).Clearly, higher conversion rates can happen but 1% is a good baseline and anything in excess of that is pure profit.
2.To break even on any product in an online affiliate campaign, your google cost per click can’t be more than 1% of what the Clickbank commission will be.Put another way, your Adwords advertising costs per sale can’t exceed your commission!
Suppose you find a Clickbank product that pays you $20 every time one of your visitors buys it. If your Google pay per click cost is 20¢ and your conversion rate is 1%, you’d break even---no money lost, no money paid (100 clicks @20¢/click=$20) .
On the other hand, if your Adwords pay per click cost is 25¢, you’re going to lose $5.00 every time somebody buys the product!
And, sadly, it’s increasingly difficult to find really cheap Google pay per click advertising rates (like 10¢ or even 20¢ per click).
That’s where the “At Least 30/100 Formula” comes in.At its simplest, it aims at a somewhat objective process to determine potential economic viability of an affiliate product.It goes something like this:
First, begin your search for a Clickbank product that has a minimum:
Commission of $30 or more and
"Gravity" of 100 or more
Clickbank publishes something called “gravity” for each of its products. All the elements that go into its determination of “gravity” are a trade secret, but our “At least 30/100 Formula” makes a fundamental initial assumption that a “gravity” of 100 is somewhat equivalent to a 1% conversion rate (at least for our initial filtering purposes).
Second, filter out (disregard) every Clickbank product that doesn’t pay at least $30/sale and doesn’t have a gravity of at least 100.
Remember, all you are trying to accomplish at this stage of your Clickbank affiliate campaign is weeding out the sure losers---and gaining an edge.
Now that you understand the concept of the "At Least 30/100 Formula" you're ready to go to Part 2: Online Affiliate Marketing Clickbank Research Tools where you'll see how to save lots of time and money avoiding losers and finding potentially big winners with indispensable, easy-to-use research tools.